Hot tub electrical requirements

Hot tub electrical requirements split into two types: plug-in at 120 V or hardwired at 240 V. Plug-in units need their own 15 or 20 amp GFCI outlet, but hardwired tubs call for a 240 V GFCI breaker sized 40 to 60 amps. A licensed electrician performs the work with a permit.

1 of 2What does the spec sheet say it needs?

To see the wiring, pick your tub's needs and how far your panel is.

120 V plug-in circuit with GFCI
15 A or 20 A
Most 240 V tubs that are full-size
50 A
Wiring for a 50 A circuit
#6 AWG copper
Keep the disconnect this far away at minimum
5 ft (1.5 m)

Which code do these numbers follow?

Listed article numbers follow the 2023 National Electrical Code (NEC), the edition cited by Jacuzzi's wiring guide. Article 680 covers pools, spas and hot tubs.

Your town or state might adopt a different edition and add local rules. Some manuals list other numbers, like 680-42. That means your local inspector makes the final call.

Wire gauge chart for hot tubs: 240 V versus 120 V

Each number comes from the named install guide or owner's manual. The cell notes it if a manual does not give a wire size.

Tub setupBreaker and GFCIWire the manual statesOutlet or disconnect
Intex logo120 V inflatable, Intex PureSpaYou need a circuit of 13 A or more; the cord has GFCI.Not stated (cord supplied)Grounded outlet, no extension cord
Cal Spas logo120 V hard tub, Cal SpasUse a 15 A GFCI outlet or GFCI cord; the breaker is 15 A on its own line.Not statedPlace the outlet between 5 and 10 ft (1.5 to 3 m) away from the tub.
Hot Spring logo120 V hard tub, Hot Spring Jetsetter20 A GFCI breaker on its own circuit#12 AWG or larger, ground includedNo extension cord
Cal Spas logo240 V, 40 A, Cal Spas one pumpOne 40 A GFCIFour #8 AWG copperA disconnect no closer than 5 ft (1.5 m)
Master Spas logo240 V, 50 A, Master Spas50 A GFCI breaker on its own circuitRun 3 wires using #6 AWG copper, plus a ground of #8 or larger.A disconnect no closer than 5 ft (1.5 m)
Cal Spas logo240 V, 50 A, Cal Spas models running two or three pumpsOne 50 A GFCIFour #6 AWG copperA disconnect no closer than 5 ft (1.5 m)
Hot Spring logo230 V, 50 A, Hot Spring VanguardThe included GFCI subpanel receives 50 A.Not stated; ground #10 AWG or largerSubpanel 5 ft (1.5 m) or more away
Cal Spas logo240 V, 60 A, Cal Spas F-1681One 60 A GFCIFour #6 AWG copperA disconnect no closer than 5 ft (1.5 m)
Jacuzzi logo240 V, 40, 50 or 60 A, Jacuzzi J5082-pole GFCI breaker; 50 A as shippedNot stated: code, power draw and run length determine it.Distance from the water to the disconnect is 5 ft (1.5 m) or more.

You cannot choose wire size based on breaker size alone. Wire type, heat rating, run length, and installation method also matter. Your electrician and tub manual decide this.

Cal Spas steps up one size if the run exceeds 100 feet (30 m). Then four #4 wires take the place of four #6 wires.

Use the print button in your browser to print the chart for your electrician.

Hot tub breaker size and GFCI breaker size

Jacuzzi says most full-size 240 V tubs need a 2-pole 50 amp GFCI breaker. Some need 40 or 60 amps, depending on the heater, pumps and extras.

Every manual in the chart shows a GFCI that matches the circuit. A 50 amp spa circuit requires a 50 amp GFCI, while a 60 amp circuit needs a 60 amp unit.

Look for your number on the data plate inside the equipment bay or check the owner's manual. You will find the voltage, minimum breaker size, wire gauge, and required GFCI listed there.

Install only one GFCI on the spa circuit. Nuisance trips happen with two in a row, cutting power with no real fault.

Hit the GFCI's TEST button every month. Call an electrician and stop using the tub if it fails to trip.

What wire size does a 50 amp hot tub need?

Master Spas specifies #6 AWG copper for a 50 amp circuit, using 3 wires and a ground no smaller than #8 AWG copper. Four wires of #6 AWG copper with THHN insulation are listed by Cal Spas; this plastic coat covers each wire.

Stick to copper wire only. The American Whirlpool manual forbids aluminum wire, and Jacuzzi recommends avoiding it as well.

Hot tub electrical requirements: 110 vs 220

People often call 120 V and 240 V by the names 110 and 220. While 120 V provides about 1 to 1.5 kW, a 240 V circuit allows the heater to run at roughly 4 to 5.5 kW, meaning 240 V tubs heat faster and retain heat better in cold weather.

Electrical needs for plug-and-play hot tubs are less complex. You must have an outdoor dedicated 15 or 20 amp GFCI outlet plus the cord that comes with the tub. Jacuzzi's plug-in models include a 10 foot (3 m) GFCI cord.

When a plug-in tub gets cold in winter, it often lacks heater power rather than being broken. Start by troubleshooting hot tub not heating. Only an electrician using the wiring diagram can switch some plug-in tubs to 240 V.

Outdoor GFCI disconnect box that meets hot tub electrical requirements, mounted near a hot tub

Hot tub disconnect requirements

Hardwired tubs require a disconnect, which is a switch or breaker box located nearby to cut all power. As expertce explains, the 2023 NEC 680.13 rule puts it no closer than 5 feet (1.5 m) to the tub's inside wall.

This distance stops anyone in the water from reaching it. Line of sight to the tub is required, and Jacuzzi places it within line of sight.

DuPage County sets a maximum of 50 feet (15 m) and cites rule 680.12 on its website. Local towns can alter this rule, and the code includes exceptions for certain listed equipment.

NEC articles to discuss

ArticleWhat it coversCited by
680Pools, spas and hot tubs, the whole setJacuzzi
680.13Place the disconnect so it sits at least 5 ft (1.5 m) away from the tub.expertce (DuPage lists 680.12)
680.44GFCI on the spa circuitAmerican Whirlpool (Master Spas and Jacuzzi print 680-42)
680.22An in-use cover goes on GFCI outlets placed near the tub.DuPage County
680.26Bond metal parts within 5 ft (1.5 m) using #8 AWG solid copperDuPage County

These notes guide your electrician but do not replace the actual code. Bonding involves connecting nearby metal items, such as rails and pipes, to the tub using a copper wire.

What your electrician needs from you

  • Provide the make and model plus a photo of the data plate found in the equipment bay.
  • Share the electrical section of the owner's manual that includes the wiring diagram.
  • Tell them where you plan to place the tub and how the wire will run from your panel. Longer runs cost more because they require extra wire and trenching work. You should also verify the base can support the full weight.
  • Know your panel size. If you have many loads on a 100 amp service, Jacuzzi says you may first need to upgrade to 150 or 200 amps.
  • Have your building plans ready. Before the deck is closed in, and before any concrete is poured, the conduit should be there.
  • Find out who gets the permit and if the quote includes the fee.
  • Know the delivery date. Wiring, testing, and sign-off for the circuit should happen before the tub is filled.

Your electrician can use this list to compare your hot tub electrical requirements with local code during one visit.

Never run a hot tub on an extension cord. Never wire one yourself. A permit and a licensed electrician protect your home, your warranty, and you.

The UK and Canada

In Ontario, the Electrical Safety Authority states that hot tubs follow very specific electrical rules. They direct owners to hire a Licensed Electrical Contractor. For the USA and Canada, Cal Spas' guide requires a local building or electrical inspector to approve the circuit. Check with your electrician to see which permits and inspections your province requires.

Home electrical work in England falls under Approved Document P, which says when notification is required. A Lay-Z-Spa tub connects to a normal 13 amp, 240 V socket that has RCD protection, never to an extension lead. The function of a GFCI is handled by an RCD (residual current device). For American Whirlpool's European spas, the device must trip at 30 mA or lower. Find out from your electrician whether notification is required for your job.

Common questions

Is it okay to plug a hot tub into a standard outlet?

Only plug-and-play tubs qualify, and they must connect to a dedicated, grounded GFCI outlet located outdoors. Extension cords pose a fire and shock risk, so never use one.

What wire size is required for a 50 amp hot tub?

For a 50 amp spa circuit, both Cal Spas and Master Spas specify #6 AWG copper. When the run exceeds 100 feet (30 m), Cal Spas switches to #4, which your electrician will confirm.

Does a hot tub need a circuit just for itself?

Yes, it does. Every manual shown in the chart requires a dedicated circuit with no other devices attached. Nuisance trips happen if you share the circuit with a pool pump or lights.

Is a permit required to wire a hot tub?

Yes, in most cases. According to Jacuzzi's pre-delivery guide, permits for outdoor building and electrical work are required by most cities and counties. Ask your town before the tub shows up.